Dignity


Oh I guess this could be about the Lyme experience or about a lot of experiences. I was thinking about how Lyme strips people of their productivity, grace, independence, all the little signatories of an adult life. I used to be excited when I wrote something compelling that might change a heart or a mind. Now I’m just happy to have a well-formed stool. Bit of a come-down.

One thought on “Dignity

  1. Yay to formed stools! As a nurse working with older adults, I see a parallel in the loss of dignity that comes with aging. Sometimes the best thing in a day for these folks is accomplishing a formed stool. (I love the drawing–especially like the way you drew the talky balloons. Is the cat you? Nice characters. The little bird is great for those internal dialoges we have.)

Leave a Reply

